Our Governors

The Governing Body

  • Mary Driver, Interim Headteacher
  • Bharathi Brown (Chair of Governors), Co-opted Governor
  • Richard Easterbrook (Vice Chair of Governors), Co-opted governor
  • Roy Unsworth, Co-opted Governor
  • Lorna Sexton, Co-opted Governor
  • Kate Lewis, Parent Governor
  • Jennifer Steeden, Parent Governor
  • Alison Sugden, Co-opted Governor
  • Sam McDonald, Staff Governor
  • Vacancy, Local Authority Governor

Governor Roles and responsibilities

In all types of schools, governing bodies should have a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

As part of the governing body team, a governor is expected to:

  1. Contribute to the strategic discussions at governing body meetings which determine:
    • the vision and ethos of the school;
    • clear and ambitious strategic priorities and targets for the school;
    • that all children, including those with special educational needs, have access to a broad and balanced curriculum;
    • the school’s budget, including the expenditure of the pupil premium allocation;
    • the school’s staffing structure and key staffing policies;
    • the principles to be used by school leaders to set other school policies.
  2. Hold the senior leaders to account by monitoring the school’s performance; this includes:
    • agreeing the outcomes from the school’s self-evaluation and ensuring they are used to inform the priorities in the school development plan;
    • considering all relevant data and feedback provided on request by school leaders and external sources on all aspects of school performance;
    • asking challenging questions of school leaders;
    • ensuring senior leaders have arranged for the required audits to be carried out and receiving the results of those audits;
    • ensuring senior leaders have developed the required policies and procedures and the school is operating effectively according to those policies;
    • acting as a link governor on a specific issue, making relevant enquiries of the relevant staff, and reporting to the governing body on the progress on the relevant school priority; and
    • listening to and reporting to the school’s stakeholders : pupils, parents, staff, and the wider community, including local employers.
    • Ensure the school staff have the resources and support they require to do their jobs well, including the necessary expertise on business management, external advice where necessary, effective appraisal and CPD (Continuing Professional Development), and suitable premises, and that the way in which those resources are used has impact.
  3. When required, serve on panels of governors to:
    • appoint the headteacher and other senior leaders;
    • appraise the headteacher;
    • set the headteacher’s pay and agree the pay recommendations for other staff;
    • hear the second stage of staff grievances and disciplinary matters;
    • hear appeals about pupil exclusions.

Governor Committees

Members of the Governing body are asked to serve on one of the following three committees:

  • School Improvement:  Lorna Sexton, Kate Lewis, Jenny Steeden, Mary Driver
  • Finance and Resources: Richard Easterbrook (chair), Alison Sugden, Diane Bailey (School Business Manager), Bharathi Brown, Mary Driver
  • Premises: Roy Unsworth (chair), Jenny Steeden, 1 Vacancy, Diane Bailey (School Business Manager), Mary Driver

Each committee has a Chair and a secretary, with the Headteacher sitting on each committee. The Chair of Governors may attend any committee meeting. The committees meet approximately once a term to discuss and monitor relevant actions for their area of work. Through the committee minutes the full governing body is informed of these discussions and may be called upon to ratify decisions made.

Other responsibilities

  • Special Educational Needs (SEN): Lorna Sexton
  • Safeguarding and Children Looked After: Kate Lewis
  • Health and Safety: Roy Unsworth
  • Head Teacher’s Appraisers: Richard Easterbrook (VCoG), Bharathi Brown (Chair)
  • Website compliance: Jennifer Steeden

Governor Pecuniary Interests and Attendance

NameTerm of OfficeAppointing BodyBusiness/ Pecuniary InterestMaterial interests arising from relationships between governors or relationships between governors and school staffGovernance Roles in Other Educational InstitutionsAttendance record at FGB meetings (from September 2018 – September 2019)
Mary Driver
Staff (Interim Head)
01/01/2022 – OngoingStaffGovernor At William Ransom Primary School NoneNone 
Richard Easterbrook (VC)
24/04/2019 – 23//04/2023FGBNo NoneNone 3/6
Kate Lewis
06/10/2020 – 05/10/2024Parent    
Roy Unsworth
24/04/2019 – 23//04/2023FGBNo NoneNone 5/6
Lorna Sexton
04/09/2020 – 03/09/2024FGBNoNoneNone 3/6
Bharathi Brown (C)
19/09/2018 – 18/09/2022FGBNoNoneNone 4/6
Alison Sugden
19/09/2018 – 18/09/2022FGBNoNoneNone 4/6
Jennifer Steeden
02/05/2021 – 01/05/2025FGBNoNoneNone 
Sam McDonald
02/02/2022 – 01/02/2026StaffNoNone  

Details of Pecuniary Interest can be sought from the Headteacher or Clerk to Governors

Governors who have left within the last 12 months

NameCategory of GovernorshipTerm of Office
Helen ParkParent15/05/2017 – 14/05/2021
Sonia FennerStaff (Head)01/10/2016 – 31/12/2021
Neil IrelandCo-opted18/11/2017 – 17/11/2021
Andrea PerryStaff1/1/2018 -1/1/2021